« The Diversity Explosion | Main | OSHA's critique of workers' compensation »

States that allow undocumented workers workers' comp benefits

“Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia all have case law establishing that undocumented immigrant workers are covered under the workers’ compensation statutes of those respective states.

“Just this past year, the Delaware Supreme Court ruled that a worker's inability to provide a valid Social Security number didn't bar his comp claim, and the California Supreme Court said a worker's alleged use of a false Social Security number to get his job didn't prevent him from suing his employer for disability discrimination when it failed to rehire him after he got hurt on the job.”.

From article by Sherri Okamoto in WorkCompCentral, Jan 12 2015

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

Mail this entry to a friend

Email this entry to:

Your email address:

Message (optional):